Shepherd’s pie

The recipe I follow for this dish is actually titled Hamburger Pie, but I grew up calling it shepherd’s pie, and Wikipedia supports my name for it.

Shepherd's pie

The recipe I use is adapted here from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, but I couldn’t find the same version online, so I’ll reproduce it here rather than link. The ones I was finding at Better Homes and Gardens all had condensed tomato soup in it. Ew.

Shepherd’s pie
Bake time: 20 minutes

2 cups mashed potatoes (or more)
3/4 pound lean ground beef
1/2 cup chopped onion (1 medium)
9 ounces frozen green beans or 2 cups loose-pack frozen mixed veggies (I like peas and carrots)
scant 1/4 cup water
1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes
1 teaspoon-ish of dried oregano, crushed
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 8-ounce can of tomato sauce
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/4 teaspoon pepper
shredded cheese to top

Make the mashed potatoes. Set aside. In a large skillet cook ground beef and onion until meat is no longer pink and onion is tender. Drain if necessary.

Stir beans or mixed vegetables and water into beef mixture. Cook, covered, for 5-10 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Stir in undrained tomatoes, tomato sauce, Worcestershire sauce, oregano, garlic and pepper. Bring to boiling. Transfer the mixture to a 2.5-quart casserole.

Drop mashed potatoes in mounds atop hot mixture and spread to nearly cover. If desired, sprinkle shredded cheese on top. Bake in a 375° oven for 20 to 25 minutes or until heated through and cheese is melted. Makes 4 servings.

I grew up having this as a way to use up instant mashed potatoes. Now I wouldn’t make it without real potatoes. Traditionally, I think of it having peas and carrots, but I make it with green beans at this point in life.

Leave a Reply

